सीएसआईआर-राष्ट्रीय भौतिक प्रयोगशाला

CSIR-National Physical Laboratory

CSIR-NPL Charter

The National Physical Laboratory is one of the earliest national laboratories set up under the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research. Late Shri Jawaharlal Nehru laid the foundation stone of NPL on the 4th January 1947. Late Dr. K. S. Krishnan, FRS, was the first Director of the laboratory. The main building of the laboratory was formally opened by Late Deputy Prime Minister Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel on the 21st January 1950.The Silver Jubilee Celebration of the Laboratory were inaugurated by Late Prime Minister, Shrimati Indira Gandhi, on 23rd December 1975.

The main aim of the laboratory is to strengthen and advance physics-based research and development for the overall development of science and technology in the country. In particular its objectives are:

  • To establish, maintain and improve continuously by research, for the benefit of the nation, National Standards of Measurements and to realize the Units based on International System (Under the subordinate Legislations of Weights and Measures Act 1956, reissued in 1988 under the 1976 Act).
  • To identify and conduct after due consideration, research in areas of physics which are most appropriate to the needs of the nation and for advancement of field.
  • To assist industries, national and other agencies in their developmental tasks by precision measurements, calibration, development of devices, processes, and other allied problems related to physics.
  • To keep itself informed of and study critically the status of physics.